Category Archives: Uncategorized

A little PSA for your soul


Hey, it’s midterms, you’re stressed, I’m stressed, we’re stressed.  But it’s okay, because we’ll get through it.  De-stress with a little dance party, maybe, do some air guitar and then sit back down and triumph over those midterms like the rock star you are!

00: Stressed Out – A Tribe Called Quest

01: Carry On – Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young

02: Stand By Me – Ben E. King

03: You Are the Sunshine // Superstition – Stevie Wonder

04: Bold as Love – Jimi Hendrix

05: Stand By Me – Ben E. King

06: Sir Duke – Stevie Wonder

07: And When I Die – Laura Nyro

08: What a Wonderful World – Joey Ramone

– lindsey

Fall Programming Up and Running!

Regular programming on WOBC for Fall 2012 has begun!

Tune in right here on 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for all things Oberlin College radio.



This week, WOBC is curating two awesome house shows:

Wednesday, September 26: SUN ARAW @ 18.5 N. Main St. (Above Subway)

Thursday, September 27: Cotton Museum//The Sediment Club//Tarpit//Crotch Rot @ 68 Elmwood


Saturday, September 29: LAUREL HALO//ITAL//MAGIC TOUCH//M. GEDDES GENGRAS @ The ‘Sco

Gonna be a great week. Come out and dance. Happy Fall.

New Music: Spiritualized- Sweet Heart Sweet Light

Spiritualized’s new album Sweet Heart Sweet Light is the newest addition to the band’s  outer-spacey psychadelic oeuvre.  Together for 22 years, Jason Pierce & Co’s rocket ship is still a flight.  Out of Rugby, England, the band’s newest album comes off of Fat Possum Records.  It’s a nice return, their last album came out in 2008.  Their clanky epic high-school marching sweetheart jam-inspired work gives twirls and twirls of dream speech.  Hazy lo-fied bellows fill this crisp spring burst, and Pierce’s return brings an ecstasy-ringing melancholy that we could all use right about now.  ‘Get What You Deserve’ is a laid back jam with phases of guitar murkiness and tambourines.  Then comes some stringy mom homage in ‘Too Late’.  Fire up the grill for 8 minutes of shoegazey-inaudible-groan heaven in ‘Headin’ For the Top Now’.  ‘Mary’ has minimal instruments, so as to be more of a cry out, a ‘take me back, take me back’ kind of outburst.  This album certainly has spaceship earth aspirations: everything you could want is here and ready to be fed into you via tubes and wires.  Certainly a warm and cozy ride chalk full of beautiful views of the sun, nebulae, etc.


1.  Huh? (Intro)

2.  Hey Jane

3.  Little Girl

04 Get What You Deserve

5.  Too Late

6.  Headin’ for the Top Now

7.  Freedom

8.  I Am What I Am

9.  Mary

10.  Life is a Problem

11.  So Long You Pretty Thing

Album Review: Talkdemonic – Ruins

The instrumental duo Talkdemonic’s album, Ruins, has made it here to WOBC!  The duo of Kevin O’Connor and Lisa Molinaro’s avante-folk-electronica (the weirder the better, right?) makes quite the cannon ball splash.  Out of Portland and on Glacial Pace Records, the group’s guitary and drummy bits are mixed up with hard extra-squeaky violin effects.  Lots of long nice screech thrashes and vague song titles.  Try track 5 ‘city sleep’ for instance.  It starts out along these lines only to throw in some finger snaps.  Chalk-full of guessing games: are we hearing bowling pins in track 6, ‘violet’?  Then it turns into a percussion pick-up.  They’re great at doing weird things with ‘instruments’.  Take a look at their photo, such enigmas!  ‘Summer Glass’ is a real treat, some real nice bippity-bopping chilled out fleeting video games vibes.  Its like you’re dreaming you’re Mario, only in a haze just falling into that sweet gold earning free life after free life.  What a summer that’d be!  Track 9, ‘Cascading’ gets kind of icy, with a melodic beat and some light symbols hitting for us.  You know the vibe.  Ruins slips in and out of recognizable sounds, a great venture to get lost in.

Track List:

1. Slumber Verses
2. Ruins
3. Revival
4. Midcentury Motion
5.  City Sleep
6.  Violet
07 Summer Glass

08 Cascading

9.  Time Draws On
10.  Midnight Pass
11.  Chimera
12.  Palace Walk