Top 30: 2/28-3/1/11

Julianna Barwick - The Magic Place

Top 30 is  a weekly section of the blog where we show the 30 most played artists and albums on WOBC. Each entry links to the artist’s MySpace (or other free music player) so you can check out some of this music for yourself!

1. James Blake – James Blake
2. Toro Y Moi – Underneath the Pine
3. Generationals – Trust EP
4. Deerhunter – Halcyon Digest
5. MGMT – Congratulations
6. Jonathan Richman – O Moon, O Queen of the Night
7. Esperanza Spalding – Chamber Music Society (She’s playing in Oberlin on March 9!)
8. Tim Hecker – Ravedeath, 1972
9. Whitechapel – A New Era of Corruption
10. High Wolf & Savage Young Taterbug – Bored Fortress
11. Dntel – After Parties 1 & 2
12. Lamb of God – Ashes of the Wake
13. Dum Dum Girls – He Gets Me High
14. Asobi Seksu – Fluorescence
15. Jad Fair – Beautiful Music: The Best of Jad Fair
16. Julian Lynch – Mare
17. Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti – Before Today
18. Papercuts – Fading Parade
19. Air Waves – Dungeon Dots
20. Radiohead – King of Limbs
21. Cloud Nothings – Cloud Nothings
22. Parting Gifts – Strychnine Dandelions
23. Baths – Nothing Nightly/Daily EP
24. Belle and Sebastian – Write About Love
25. Shad – TSOL (Bonus Version)
26. Neil Young – Le Noise
27. Sufjan Stevens – The Age of Adz
28. Deerhoof – Deerhoof vs. Evil
29. …And You Will Know Us By the Trail of Dead – Tao of the Dead
30. Julianna Barwick – The Magic Place

(Matt Orenstein)


Want to DJ on WOBC?

It’s not too late! Email your show name, description, and sample playlist to pd@wobc.org.


Top 5 Adds: 2/28/11 – 3/1/11

Dum Dum Girls - He Gets Me High

Dum Dum Girls: He Gets Me High

Top 5 Adds is a weekly section of the WOBC Blog that displays the Top 5 most played new albums at the station. Each album links to the band’s myspace, Last.fm, or other music player so you can check them out for yourself!

1. Dum Dum Girls – He Gets Me High EP – I’d been waiting for this record for a while … those of you who saw them play with Girls in Oberlin can attest that this band is the real deal. The layer of fuzz on the DDG’s earlier releases is gone, but the clarity of this album showcases just how talented this band is. Includes a cover of The Smiths’ “There is a Light That Never Goes Out” that’s pretty faithful to the original.

2. Jad Fair – Beautiful Music: The Best of Jad Fair – This album was my introduction to Fair’s music. Never knew how much I had missed. This album is a three-disc set that runs about a hundred songs (and some change). Idiosyncratic without being cutesy, pop-y without being saccharine. Though a hundred songs is a bit much for a best-of comp, odds are you’ll find something in this bunch to grab onto.

3. Colleen Green – Green One – Solid record, but the track “Dance The Night Away” stands head and shoulders above the rest.

4. And You Will Know Us By the Trail of Dead – Tao of the Dead

5. The Babies – The Babies – Shambolic jangle-pop in the vein of The Bitters, The Mantles, and even chart-mate Jad Fair.

(Matt Orenstein)


Live at Jazz Forum: Tim Bennett Ensemble and Peter Manheim Ensemble

Tim Bennet - Oberlin Jazz at Hales by Sam Lawrence

Image courtesy of Sam Lawrence

Every Friday at 12:15 pm, the Oberlin jazz community gathers for Jazz Forum at the Cat in the Cream, where audience members are treated to short sets from 2 or 3 of Oberlin’s small jazz ensembles. At the second forum of the semester, Jazz Studies upperclassmen Tim Bennet and Peter Manheim each led his own quartet in a fine display of musicianship and improvisation. -Adam Hirsch

Tim Bennet Ensemble @ Jazz Forum 2_25_11

1. “Rise” (Tim Bennett)
2. “Neon” (Ethan Iverson)
3. “Untitled” – (Tim Bennett)

Peter Manheim Ensemble @ Jazz Forum 2_25_11

1. “Lotus Blossom” (Kenny Dorham)
2. “Untitled” – (Will Miller)


The Ohio Silvertones – "Come And Go To That Land"

The Ohio Silvertones

Here’s some terrific Ohio gospel from Cleveland’s own Ohio Silvertones, released as a single on Bounty Records in 1974. This song features the lead vocal of Drue Williams. -David Greenberg

The Ohio Silvertones – Come And Go To That Land


Top 30: 2/22/11

Can you find Sexxx Luthor? He has lost himself.

Welcome to the Top 30 section of the WOBC Blog! A big part of my job is reporting to CMJ what exactly WOBC plays every week. This chart shows the 30 most played albums, while the Adds chart (posted yesterday) tells CMJ what of the most recent batch of albums we’ve been spinning most. So this post, like the Top 5 Adds, will come at you weekly. So here’s what we’ve been spinning:

1. Radiohead – King of Limbs
2. James Blake – James Blake
3. Deerhunter – Halcyon Digest
4. Baths – Nothing Nightly/Daily EP
5. Teen Daze – Four More Years
6. Sufjan Stevens – The Age of Adz
7. Homostupids – The Load
8. Memory Tapes – Seek Magic
9. Toro y Moi – Underneath the Pine
10. Ducktails – Ducktails
11. Beach Fossils – Beach Fossils
12. Teengirl Fantasy – 7am
13. Tobacco – Fucked Up Friends
14. Woods – At Echo Lake
15. Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti – Before Today
16. Bassnectar – Bootleg Kutz
17. Smith Westerns – Dye it Blonde
18. Black Keys – Brothers
19. PJ Harvey – Let England Shake
20. Cloud Nothings – Cloud Nothings
21. The Arcade Fire – The Suburbs
22. Sun City Girls – Funeral Mariachi
23. Panda Bear – Last Night at the Jetty (single)
24. Air Waves – Dungeon Dots
25. Shad – TSOL (Bonus Version)
26. Salva – Complex Housing
27. Deerhoof – Deerhoof vs. Evil
28. Asobi Seksu – Fluorescence
29. Sims – Bad Time Zoo
30. Elk – Let’s Get Married

(Matt Orenstein)


Top 5 Adds: 2/21/11

Air Waves - Dungeon Dots

Welcome to the first installment of “Top 5 Adds!” A big part of the Music Director’s job here at WOBC is reporting to CMJ what we’re playing, and a big part of the reporting is the Adds Chart. More so than the Top 200 Chart, this one highlights new records that we’ve added to the station this week. This chart is a really good place for up-and-coming bands (or bands that have already been established) to get their due. I’ll be posting the adds every week as long as I’m the MD here (for the rest of the semester). I’ll be coming at you weekly with these, and I’ll do the same with the general top 30 chart. So, without further ado, THE ADDS:

1. Radiohead – The King of Limbs. Real shocker here. Biggest band in the world gets the number one slot on this chart. Since its Friday release, this album has had 20 plays on WOBC. This is tops for the Top 200 Chart as well. If you prefer Radiohead’s Headphone Records (Kid A, Amnesiac, Hail to the Theif) to ones that sound more like people with electric guitars (The Bends, OK Computer), you’ll love this one.

2. Toro y Moi – Underneath the Pine.

3. Air Waves – Dungeon Dots. (Album cover pictured above). This band came to Oberlin three semesters ago and crashed on my floor. They’re all great (underwater) people. They’ve re-recorded a lot of stuff from earlier releases for this album, so it sounds cleaner than their first EP. Another strong showing of sparsely produced indie-pop from the Underwater Peoples community.

4. Shad – TSOL (Bonus Version). I always freak out a little bit when I see Shad’s name in my inbox, because I always misread it as “Shaq.” But I’m glad it’s indeed Shad. This record is just an EP, but it’s characteristically strong. RIYL: K-OS, Dam Funk, Dilla, Ant, etc.

5. Salva – Complex Housing.

(Matt Orenstein)